Breaking News

CIO Association of Canada Award Winners Announced


 Association of Canada Award Winners Announced

In late April there were reports that Andrew Dillon was selected to receive the 2021 Presidential Award from the CIO Association of Canada (CIOCAN).

For Dillon and other recipients of this year's prestigious Impact Award, it is a highly deserving recognition for dedicated CIOCAN membership and motivational service.

"It is a tremendous honor," said Dillon, president and chief product officer of Karine Inc., "As the past president of CIOCAN, it is fantastic to see such amazing growth and value." Every technology leader in Canada must be a member. "

A proven leader with operational experience ranging from startups to large global organizations, Dillon is one of eight CIOCAN Impact Award recipients for 2021. In addition to receiving the President's Award, CIOCAN was pleased to honor the following individuals:

Joyce Timmers, IT Director, Powrex: Lifetime Achievement Award
A highly respected board member, Jorys Timmers has been a dedicated member of CIOCAN since 2006 and one of the founding members of the Vancouver Chapter of the CIO Association.

Ron Murch, Senior Instructor Emeritus, Haskayne School of Business: Mentor of the Year Award at the University of Calgary
A true leader and teacher, Ron Murch has made a meaningful impact by sharing his time and experience with others.

Yves Boucher, Executive Director of IT Services Management, Transport Canada: Crisis Leadership Award
When COVID-19 forced Transport Canada to relocate all 6,000 employees to work from home, Yves Boucher put together a crisis team that ensured the health and safety of workers and kept operations running .

Catherine Mendonsa, CISO, Director of Information Systems Security and Enterprise Architecture, International Inc.
Despite a demanding role within her organization, Catherine Mendonsa established three brand new security programs for large organizations, introducing a new culture of security awareness.

Hilary Sinclair, Senior Director, IS Transformation, Ledcore: CIOCAN Member of the Year Award
An up-and-coming leader, Hillary Sinclair, adds a valuable perspective to the Vancouver chapter, attracting other young leaders and making a concerted effort to engage with new members.

Andrew Masterson, IT Manager, Nuvista Energy: CIOCAN Member of the Year Award
Andrew Masterson's actions at Calgary Connect, a weekly virtual networking event, showcase the value of CIOCAN membership. An engaged member, he ensures that existing and prospective members receive value-added benefits.

Kyoko Kobayashi, Managing Partner, CIOs Beyond Borders Group: CIOCAN Member of the Year Award
Kyoko Kobayashi's dedicated leadership and mentoring in Toronto Leadership has a positive impact on the Association's goals.

For Phil Johnson, CIOCAN President and Chief Information Officer of the National Research Council, this year's number of nominees and contestants allow respected members of the CIO community to interchange.

"I would not like to congratulate this year's recipients," he said. “The Impact Awards Program is a way to outline exceptional leadership in digital transformation. This is what motivates our members to promote, connect and make an impact for the CIO profession. "

No comments